Archive for March 7th, 2007

A day on the water

I had a beautiful Sunday. Pete was down in Georgia for a living history event this weekend, so I skittered on down to see him on Sunday morning and then I dropped him at the Savannah airport that afternoon before I headed back home. While I was there I also helped out a friend who is filming something for the museum of the upcountry, so I got to stand around in my 18th-century clothes watching in horror as one of my best friends pretended to get whipped. His screams were very convincing and therefore slightly disturbing, but at least I am comforted with the fact that people in Greenville, S.C. will forever know my face. Fame, I tell you! I can taste it.

It was beautiful in Darien, GA, where we were. The site butts up to a beautiful saltwater marsh which is cut with a slightly navigable rivulet. The guys were doing a naval interpretation this weekend, so they had a lovely little 15-or-so ft. dorry that they took out and played in all weekend.

As you can see, the weather was gorgeous. Blue skies, a stiff (if not a little chilly) breeze and one hell of a bright sun (As can be attested by my first sunburn of 2007. I’m sure there will be many, many more. I though about posting a picture, but I’d prefer to fool you all into thinking that I’m much more attractive than I am in real life. Don’t you love the internet?). It was truly perfect sailing weather, which is lucky for me. One of the things that Pete and I have in common is our love for and history of sailing. I grew up sailing with my parents and spent many a weekend at the lake and later the gulf as our boats grew. Pete is a tall shipper, having made various voyages on some well-known ships. I will freely admit that he knows much more than I do, as most of my experience seems to center on me lazing about until my dad hollered up some order for me to yank on some line or hoist up some sail.

Being able to sail with each other is one of the things I have always looked foward to with Pete, since there aren’t many people out there who appreciate it. I myself haven’t been sailing since I moved to Charleston 2 1/2 years ago, since my visits back to Alabama have been lamentably few and far between. On top of that, they are usually short, so there hasn’t been an opportunity for us to make the even farther trip down to the gulf. That will change soon, though, because in about 2 weeks he and I are taking a 5-day trip down there with the purpose of sailing with my parents (and yes, in case you are following along, this will also be the introduction to the family DUM DUM DUUUUMMM).

On Sunday I got a little taste, since I manned the helm on a short little trip up the creek with Pete and 5 other sailors. It was beautiful to be out on the water with some of my favorite people, completely removed from any sign of the modern world, doing one of my favorite things. And I couldn’t hide my joy at being able to look over and see this:

OK, I’ll stop gushing now.

Here are a few more from the trip: