Baby time

Yep, they had the baby.  Thursday night we all went out for Karaoke (these people are Karaoke fiends, it’s weird…except that they are really good, so it makes sense?).  We went back to their house afterwards and not too long after that, Dan’s wife said she was having some pains.  They asked me to stay, so I timed her contractions for a few hours before they left for the hospital at 3:30 AM.  On Friday, the 3rd, she was born at 8:39 PM.  Momma and baby are happy and healthy.

That’s great and all, but really I just care that I was the FIRST person to know that she was in labor!  I TOTALLY won the friend battle!  Suck it, other friends!

(Also, I am terrified of infants.  Why are they so scary?)

10 responses to this post.

  1. Infants ARE scary. I know.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Ezra on July 5, 2009 at 11:08 pm

    Other people’s infants don’t scare me at all. But, the idea of having my own infant scares the bejeezus out of me.

    Of course, a beautiful seven week old did just move into my house…

    Reply

  3. Puppies don’t count, Ezra…they aren’t scary at all!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Sandie on July 6, 2009 at 11:10 am

    I will try to keep this brief as I could write a book on having an infant. I had Taylor when I was 33 years old…I was terrified of having a baby even though I was one of six kids and took care of 4 of them when they were babies.

    Taylor came home from the hospital when she was 3 days old-my mom was supposed to have come to help with the adjustment but she was not able to make the trip. So, it was just her and my dad who had already had a child from a previous marriage so he did not seem alarmed in the least…he carried Taylor around on one arm while he cooked supper and his hand was bigger than her head.

    I would have been the last person in the world to think that I would have any motherly instincts but somehow it just all came naturally…it blew me away that I just knew what to do and having that tiny, helpless infant baby was the most amazing thing that I could ever imagine–through all the years of raising Taylor her infancy was the most wonderful, magical time of all. And it passes much, much too quickly. Please tell your friends to cherish these moments…

    Normally I would find a clever, funny way to end this post but I am starting to get emotional just remembering those times…

    Reply

  5. Posted by Sandie on July 6, 2009 at 11:11 am

    Sorry—I meant me and Taylor’s dad…!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Sandie on July 6, 2009 at 11:19 am

    P.S. We, of course, expect to see some pictures!!!

    Reply

  7. I too am definitely weirded out by babies. They look like aliens.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Sandie on July 8, 2009 at 12:48 pm

    Talk about aliens! You should have seen Taylor the moment after she was born–she looked EXACTLY like E.T. with extremely gigantic blue eyes and a long, flexible neck…she was not, however, interested in Reese’s Pieces…

    Reply

  9. Posted by Ezra on July 9, 2009 at 12:06 am

    I need to get ahold of some pictures of that. I can feel a photoshop project in the making.

    Reply

  10. Posted by Sandie on July 9, 2009 at 8:57 pm

    Hmmm…let me work on that….I know of at least one photo of her at about 3 days old when she has on a white t-shirt and her hair is combed into a mohawk!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

