Transitions

I’m sorry that I haven’t been posting here lately.  I’ve only had one thing to talk about and I haven’t much felt like talking about it.  But I can’t deny it anymore, so here goes:

My relationship has fallen apart.

Pete and I broke up, officially, on Monday.  We broke up unofficially last Monday and even more unofficially a couple of months ago.  The fact is we’ve both been pretty miserable for quite some time, and I got to the point where I couldn’t handle it anymore.

Nothing big happened- no huge fight, no betrayals, no drama.  We just stopped loving each other.  We’re too different and our friendship wasn’t strong enough to pull us through the difficulties a relationship can bring.

So I’m in the process of trying to figure out what in the hell I’m doing and where I’m going and how I’m going to survive.  I know I can do it, because I’m strong and independent and smart, but it’s still pretty damn scary.

I’m sorry I’ve been silent about this, but I have a hard time admitting when there is a problem in my life that I don’t know how to fix.

Being alone in New England is a place that I never thought I’d be in, but here I am.

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Ezra on January 15, 2009 at 12:24 am

    Speechless a little…

    The hardest transitions and the most dangerous leaps are often the most rewarding.

    You know… as long as the leaps don’t kill you. Make sure there are no jagged rocks at the bottom.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Ezra on January 15, 2009 at 12:25 am

    And you’re never alone, Taylor.

    Reply

  3. You’re one of the strongest people I know, Taylora. You’ll make it through this and come out better than ever. Good for you for making the right decision instead of the easy one. You know there are a lot of folks sending you good vibes now and always–I’m at the top of the list.

    Reply

  4. I am sorry to hear you are going through a tough time, but it’s better to recognize a relationship that is not working than to stay in and suffer. As a distraction, if you ever want to check out some historical sites in Boston (not the usual ones; I know the cool less-familiar ones), get in touch.

    Reply

  5. Posted by sandie on January 15, 2009 at 12:16 pm

    Ezra said it best…”you are not alone.”

    There are no quarantees in life, especially when it comes to matters of the heart. The best we can all hope for is to find someone with whom we are willing to take a chance. You took that chance and unfortunately it did not work out…but at least you had the guts to take the chance and you will learn and grow from the experience. Even though my heart is very, very heavy I know you will come through this as a wiser woman.

    Never close your heart to love…you have much, much to give and you have many, many people who love you, most of all me.

    Mom

    Reply

  6. Posted by Zayne on January 16, 2009 at 3:29 pm

    You are such a wonderful person; I am very sorry that you are going through this right now. Hopefully you can take heart that you are obviously loved and highly regarded by an awful lot of people and that is no small thing.

    Reply

  7. I was really stunned and saddened to hear about this Taylor. I know how much you put yourself out there with this relationship moving up there and living in cold, fridgid New England when I know you long for the sun and beaches of the deep South. Please let me know how you’re doing and where you end up. Please take care.

    Reply

  8. Oh girl, this sucks. Come back to da South, my friend!!!!

    Reply

  9. Posted by Kinsey on January 21, 2009 at 4:28 pm

    Taylor,
    Get yourself in a car and drive up to see Daniel and I in Burlington! I can think of eight places to cheer you up, Rock Art Brewery, Magic Hat Brewery, Harpoon Brewery, Switchback Brewery, Long Trail Brewery, Trout River Brewing – okay fine, so they’re all breweries, but that’s okay right? Hope you like beer 🙂

    Kinsey & Dan

    Reply

Leave a Reply

