Predictions

Of the Swing States, I think Obama will win Virginia, Nevada, Colorado, North Dakota, Missouri, New Hampshire, Pennsylvania, and Ohio.

I think McCain will hang on to Arizona, Montana, Indiana, North Carolina, and Florida.

I don’t think there will be any other surprises, but I think it will be very close in Ohio, Colorado, Florida and Indiana.

With those results:

Obama: 325 Electoral Votes

McCain: 213 Electoral Votes

I think Obama will win the popular vote easily, with a 10% margin. 

I don’t think the Democrats will get to the magic number of 60 votes, but I think they will win at least 56 with Kay Hagan (NC), Jean Shaheen (NH), Al Franken (MN), and Begich (AK- the guy running against Ted Stevens) all winning.  I hope, hope, hope to see Jim Martin defeat the detestable Saxby Chambliss in Georgia.  In fact, I actually donated money to Jim Martin’s campaign because I hate Chambliss so much, but I don’t think Martin will be able to win. 

I think the Democrats will do well in the house as well, but I’m not following those races enough to be able to predict anyone winning.

I don’t think there will be any snafus of a Florida 2000 level, but I think there will be several states that finally come in very late and very contested tonight.

I don’t think it will matter.  Obama will win early.

What do you think?  Will there be any surprises?  Please share!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Ezra on November 4, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    Predictions are cool, but I need to make another point.

    This morning you texted me at 5:55 AM!!! Central time, Taylor. Central time. Now that I’m on call at night, sleep is a very important thing. But I guess election day was a valid reason to text me so early.

    Reply

  2. Thought I’d get on here before some of *those* people showed back up (the ones I mentioned in my fb message to you a couple of weeks ago).

    From your mouth to…well, you know the rest.

    And Chambliss is heinous–indefensible in any way, shape, or form. Martin probably won’t win, but we gave to his campaign anyway. If nothing else, maybe Martin’s loss will be by a small enough margin to make Chambliss realize how much anyone with an ounce of decency down here despises him. (Ha ha–it’s funny how I think he has any self-awareness at all, isn’t it?)

    Reply

  3. I am not making any predictions about who will win. I do think it will be much closer than some people are predicting though.

    Reply

Leave a comment