Obama

 Oh my Barack!  I feel like I haven’t slept in days because I’ve been staying up WAY past my bedtime to watch all the speeches (Curse you to hell, Eastern Time!).  They have all been great- nay, INSPIRING- speeches.  Hillary gave me the most goosebumps and the most tears-welling-up moments, mostly because I identified so much with her oratorical connection to the women’s suffrage movement.  I definitely like her again (seriously, though, she seemed earnestly humble, and it was awesome that she was the one who made the motion to suspend the delegate voting and proclaim Obama the candidate by acclamation).   Bill was charming and impressive, as usual.  Joe Biden was a tiger (remember 100 years ago during that first major debate when I said how impressed I was with him?), and I’m really glad we get to see more of him.  Also:  Bonus points for hot kids!  I won’t be sad to see more of Beau Biden. 

And Obama.  He was mesmerizing.  It’s a given that he is an amazing speaker and someone who is able to make his audience feel so hopeful, but he was so much more than that last night.  He laid his plans out there and they were spot on (except for the “clean coal” bit, which I could have done without).  He was tough, he was steady, he was passionate, and hot damn y’all, he was right!  And John McCain is going to look like a steam-powered robot next to him. 

I was really proud to put my Obama sticker on my car this morning.

 

UPDATED! Sweet Jumpin’ Sassafrass!  Has McCain lost his goddamn mind?  That poor, poor woman is about to have the worst 2 months of her life.   Heh, it’s almost like McCain said, “Internet, find me a running mate!”

5 responses to this post.

  1. Totally! I am rushing around trying to find an Obama button.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Ezra on August 29, 2008 at 10:45 am

    I can’t believe you just now put the sticker on your car. I have about 20 bumper stickers, I would have sent you one. (they gave me the bumper stickers when we set up the event when Obama came to Selma) If you are looking for free bumper stickers or buttons go to MoveOn.org. I know they are a little on the ultra-liberal / crazy side, but free is free.

    I can’t imagine anyone who will out-debate Biden. McCains people have to be getting really afraid of having their guy in a debate hall standing next to Obama. It’s like a model T standing beside a Prius.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Ezra on August 29, 2008 at 10:47 am

    Oh yeah, I also have the extra bumper stickers because around here people like to rip Obama stickers off of cars. Alabama rules.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Teresa on August 29, 2008 at 11:24 am

    I’m trying to decide if I should replace my Obama sticker with my new Obama/Biden one, or just put the new one next to it…you know, all of these important decisions! 😉
    And seriously, McCain’s new VP pick is going to get her ass handed to her by Biden in the VP debates–it’s gonna be awesome to watch!

    (And speaking of Red State idiots and bumper stickers, I used to get harassed by the cops in South Dakota because I always had a ton of stickers for Democratic candidates on my car–my parents still won’t put bumper stickers on their car because of that!)

    Reply

  5. Posted by Taylor on August 29, 2008 at 1:53 pm

    I know! Can you belive how ridiculous I am that I don’t have a sticker on my car yet? I’m awfully embarassed about it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

