HA! And you thought I was dead!

I know, right?  You thought this blog was dead.  Don’t feel too badly, I kinda thought it was too.  What’s really obnoxious about this whole thing is that it drives me CRAZY when people who are usually occasionally frequent-ish bloggers stop writing.  (As an aside, how much do I hate the term “bloggers?”)  I am the first person to huff and roll my eyes when I click on a site and the last time it was updated was a month prior.  And look what I’ve done!  Today makes it one month and one day since I’ve written a whit.

My bad!

Not that I have anything at all to say, I just wanted to check in and let you know that I haven’t been hit by a train or crushed in a mass of Celtic-infused hysteria.

Let’s do a very brief rundown of what I’ve been doing lately, shall we:

1.  I got a promotion at work!  Hurrah!  However, said promotion is in conjunction with me training my replacement.  Who they haven’t hired yet.  So I am doing two jobs at the moment.  Slightly frazzling.

2.  Pete is in Alaska for 13 days.  Currently he is on day 5 and, much to my shock, I actually miss him quite a bit.  I do not however miss making a complete mess of the house and playing computer games for hours at a time.

3.  When I’m not playing computer games, I’ve been picking peas.  Pounds and pounds of peas.  Our CSA has probably 300-400 feet of peas, and I’ve been a-pickin’.  My back is sore and my shoulders are sunburned and I couldn’t be happier.  I’m going back tomorrow evening to do it some more.

Let me try and come up with something interesting to say, which I will translate for you:  See y’all in a month!

(No, no.  I jest.  I hope.)

 

6 responses to this post.

  1. I knew you’d be back. I, too, hate when bloggers quit.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Sandrita on June 23, 2008 at 11:36 am

    I had my first home-grown tomato sandwich last night–the taste we wait 9 months for each year…ummmmmmmmmm. This is the time of year that I start getting ulcers in my mouth from all the acid in the tomatoes I will be eating. We are eating fresh corn almost every day and your dad has canned green beans, made pickles and dug new potatoes, carrots and vadalia onions. He made a crock full of sauerkraut from home grown cabbage and we canned that a couple of weeks ago. The tomatoes are starting to come in and he will spend his retirement days stocking the pantry. Barbara Kingsolver would be proud of us!!

    BYW, welcome back!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Kelly on June 23, 2008 at 3:53 pm

    I’m glad you are back!! Congrats on the promotion.

    Reply

  4. Oh I’m so glad to see you back. Just yesterday I checked in here to see if there was something new and I was about ready to throw in the towel when I saw you hadn’t been here. But I reminded myself that I, too, have been guilty of the month long abscence. Imagine my delight when I came back to see you’d been here today.

    Keep posting, congrats on the promo.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Ezra on June 24, 2008 at 1:59 am

    Well, I haven’t picked, canned, or pickled anything. And I haven’t been able to get a tomato in a while. Stupid salmonella. I did clean my loft, and rearrange the furniture. Oddly that was very therapeutic, so I don’t feel too bad about not being as active as you all. (Sorry, I can’t even type the contraction. Its my one anti-southern tendency.) Plus, the only dirt near my house is now the gutted insides of the old mercantile building behind my building that is now being converted to… more lofts. Which is good, because what I really need is an overabundance of lofts in Birmingham to drive the value of my place as low as it can possibly go.

    Reply

  6. Congrats on the promotion! I know exactly how you feel though. Im stuck in the whole “doing two jobs” thing for at least a month. Good luck!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

