Sgt. Matthis Chiroux

Have you heard about Army Sgt. Matthis Chiroux?

After being honorably discarged last year and serving for four years all over the world, he’s been called back up to serve in Iraq.  He’s refused to go.  Publicly.

Make sure you read his statement.  I think it’s eloquently put and a convincing argument.

But what’s more amazing about this story is that I went to high school with Matthis Chiroux.  We weren’t extremely close, as he was two years younger than I was, but we certainly had many mutual friends and I called him one of mine.  He was at my graduation party, and I jokingly referred to his sister as my “adopted little sister.”

Matthis was a quiet, somewhat self-conscious young man who was a keen observer of the world around him.  He noticed things that other people didn’t (which is one reason I’m so pleased to see that he’s become a journalist).  He was gentle and kind.   I remember hearing through the grapevine- we didn’t stay in contact after I graduated- that he had joined the military and being sad about it.  He never struck me as the type who would be happy in that kind of environment, but as I said, I didn’t know him terribly well. 

It’s a happy occasion to hear that he’s doing well and doing something so strong and brave.  I’m so proud to know that he’s grown into the kind of man who’s willing to stand up to the military and to this adminstration and finally say “enough!”

Good for you, Matthis!  Thank-you.

See a video of the press conference here.

All links via another fellow alum, supercres.

5 responses to this post.

  1. That was a great speech. I definately agree.

    Reply

  2. We have different memories/impressions of AHS-era Matthis (teacher vs. student interaction, I guess), but similar pride in the principled and articulate young man he seems to have become. Who would have seen this coming?

    Reply

  3. patrolwoman says : I absolutely agree with this !

    Reply

  4. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Underlay!

    Reply

  5. […] October 18, 2008 Filed under: Save the world — Taylor @ 9:09 am A few months ago, I posted about a former class-mate of mine, Matthis Chiroux, who was refusing to be re-deployed to Iraq.  Matthis is an active member of the […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

