What’s your greendex?

This is a neat little quiz by National Geographic that allows you to test your impact by answering a few multiple choice questions and then comparing it to the “greendexes” of other countries around the world.

I got a score of 50, which better than average, but still not as high as I would like.  When I start getting food from our farm and growing some of our own veggies, it will be higher, but as long as we drive as much as we do, it will never be as high as I’d like.

What’s your score?

What can you do to make it better?

via DailyKos

8 responses to this post.

  1. I got a 46. That sucks. I really need to start recycling more often. I wish I had access to public transportation but I live in a small southern town and that isnt an option. I will start carpooling with my boyfriend soon though since we are moving in together (yay!).

    Reply

  2. 58! Though really that reflects more on the fact that I don’t have a car and live in a cramped city, in an apartment without air conditioning more than anything else.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Ezra on May 8, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    53. I think this is mostly because my home is new, and has all the energy efficient appliances in it. Also, I can’t afford beef. Money effects how bad you can be to the environment. When med school is over my number will probably drop to a 12.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Michele on May 9, 2008 at 8:32 am

    I will go right now and see what my index is. i came via the DGM Links of Love to say hi.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Teresa on May 9, 2008 at 8:34 am

    56! It helps that I take the metro pretty much every day (yay for cities with decent public transportation!), but I got hit on the fact that I also drive fairly regularly (but at least it’s a tiny little civic!)–though I may be able to get better about that now that there’s *finally* a Target in the District, and that I rent my apartment so I don’t have a say in what sort of appliances are in it!
    And now that I’m finally finishing up grad school, my number might even go up–now I’ll have the time and money to get to the farmers markets, and hopefully I can find a new apartment with slightly less *ancient* appliances! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Posted by Michele on May 9, 2008 at 8:38 am

    Came back to say I am a 55. So definitely room for imrpovement. One big issue for us is that husband and I both drive 30 miles to work (in dif directions) and there is no public transportation available.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Jennifer Shelby Walker on May 12, 2008 at 5:04 pm

    I got a 58 (Pretty good for an American, right). I drive everywhere. Texas is big and I work out in the remote wilderness. I think my score was good because I live in a small condo and I am a recycle/ precycle nazi.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Scott Walker on May 18, 2008 at 9:40 am

    Jennifer told me about your green hippy test so I decided to take it. I must say, I was a little disappointed with my results….but then I realized that I can just add my score to Jennifers and divide by two!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

