But they were pointy! And clickey! And cute!

I’m not quite sure what it was that possessed me to get up yesterday morning and put on those boots.  It must have been because it was 5:50 in the morning and I have been sleeping like a crackhead lately (I mean…I guess?  Do crackheads sleep erratically? That’s what I’m trying to say I’ve been doing…I AM AN AWESOME EXPLAINER).  My first mistake was probably getting dressed, because for some reason I decided that wearing brown pants and a brown shirt that were the EXACT same color that also happens to be the EXACT same color as my hair, which I wore down, and which is unbelievably long and sprawling at the moment, would be a good idea.  I was almost completely monochromatic, and the color that I was proudly wearing was “poop.”  HOTTT.

So anyway, in my stupor I say:  “ZOMG!  I have cute, pointy boots that are also this lovely poop color!  Let me put them on!”

(but, for real, these boots really are cute.  And, for the record, I really LOVE this color brown, but not when I am Lit-trally wearing it from head to toe)

The key issue about this isn’t the color (which makes it questionable that I am writing about the color so much, right? Once again:  AWESOME AT THE DESCRIBING OF THINGS.) (Jesus. Christ.  Enough with the goddamn parenthesis!  Why do I keep using these?), it’s that they have the little pointy heels on them too.  I do wear heels at work almost every day, but in my other life, heels are a rarity for me.  I love the way they look and sometimes pretty shoes in a store window will stop me in my tracks, but I just don’t wear them.  Before I moved here I wore flip flops every day, even in the winter, but now that I’ve decided I don’t want my toes to turn black and fall off, I’ve taken to wearing Merrils or boat shoes almost everyday.  Heeled?  Nope.  Cute?  Absolutely not.  Comfy? You bet your ass they are!  My  heels that I wear at work actually live under my desk at night, and I just change when I get here, so I never actually have to, you know, walk in them at all.  But I do walk quite a bit every day to and from the subway stations or from the train station if my train gets in a little early. 

I happen to work in a part of Boston that is rather “historic” which is a euphemism (is that right?  “A euphemism?”  Shouldn’t it be “An euphemism?”  That can’t be right though…) for “seriously wrecked sidewalks.”  There are bricks missing and unevenness and slick spots and all sorts of precariousness, which makes for awesome walking conditions.  Especially walking in clicky boots with high, skinny heels.  I, miraculously, did not actually face-plant into the sidewalk, but I was close.  And of course my feet are SCREAMING at me today for it.  Like, owy-owy-ouch, my feet motherfucking hurt like you wouldn’t believe. 

Now I remember why I’ve owned these boots for 6 years and have only worn them 5 or 6 times.  And why I generally don’t walk across Boston in shoes like this.  The warm weather is addling my mind and forcing me to make questionable fashion decisions!  My number one thing I am looking forward to about summer:  breaking out the flip flops again.  It can’t wait.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Precisely why my heeled shoes and boots have remained in my closet for eternity. The last time I wore them it took me a week to be able to walk without pain.

    Live for the flip flops!! It’s all about the comfort baby. I really think they should make flip flops part of the “business casual” dress code.

    Found you from DGM…glad I did!

    Reply

  2. I just found you through Dad Gone Mad, and I aboslutely love your blog– love the template, love your writing… LOVE LOVE LOVE.

    I’ll most definitely be back!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Jennifer Shelby Walker on April 6, 2008 at 7:35 pm

    I am starting to think brown clothing and parentheses are genetic. I have both of those maladies as well. Add it to the list- along with the annoying cowlick we got from Daddy.
    lovies, Sis

    Reply

  4. Posted by Ezra on April 8, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    For the record. A euphamism is correct. It is not the vowel that determines the article, it is the sound at the beginning of the word. The y sound at the beginning of euphamism is that of a consonant. Of course that rule is completely debunked by the letter h. ” an historian” destroys any sense of continuity. Stupid English language.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Teresa on April 9, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    Oh yes…for me, high pointy heels + old brick floors = disaster. The basement of the Carlyle House (where our offices and gift shop are) has an old brick floor with lots of gaps, and I tend to be brilliant and wear my awesome pointy heeled shoes when I work there on the weekends (because, you know, pointy heels are also great for the 200-year old wooden floors upstairs…yes, I am a bad historic house employee), and I can’t even count the number of times I’ve wiped out or almost wiped out on the bricks. Usually in front of the director or lots and lots of tourists. And yet I never learn. Because I’m amazing like that! 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

