Oh, ye springtime!

Y’ALL!  It is 66 degrees in Boston today.  It may be grey and drizzily and generally yucky, but it is 66 DEGREES.  I got into the city ridiculously early today, so instead of taking the subway to my office, I walked, the long way, through Chinatown.

(An aside:  Even at 7:45 in the morning, the smell of cheap, greasy Chinese food is one of my favorite smells in the world.  I don’t think I have ever craved Lo Mein so early in the day.)

I am in the best of moods this morning.  I guess it isn’t lack of sunlight that bothers me, but just the bitter cold weather.  I haven’t been in spirits this high since the Fall, which is slightly frightening.  That’s an awfully long time to be in a funk.  No Matter!  It’s April 1st, and surely spring is around the corner (as long as I ignore the fact that it’s supposed to be back in the 30s by the end of the week).  It certainly helps that this morning when I left the house, I picked some of the Daffodils blooming – DAFFODILS!  BLOOMING! – in my garden to send to work with Pete so that he could give them to his Headmistress (She’s Welsh – Daffodils are the national flower of Wales and an enduring symbol for all Welsh people – and Pete just got word that next year he’s getting a big, fat raise, so she’s one of my favorite people at the moment). 

I have never been so happy to see a season coming. 

(OMFG!  Daffodils!)

4 responses to this post.

  1. I was also extraordinarily happy today. I guess it must have been the weather!

    Reply

  2. Given the day, I’m tempted to read this post as something else and tell you not to be so upset, that surely things’ll get better; I know it’ll warm up. BUT MAYBE I should just be tempted to be happy for you and not read elaborate April Fools jokes into places they’re not needed. It’s warmer here in NYC too, and even the drizzly rain didn’t dampen my mood during the walk from the subway today.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Taylor on April 1, 2008 at 11:45 am

    Oh, don’t worry Wade! I despise April Fools with a passion, so I would never trick you into thinking I was in a good mood. I honestly am happy!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Julie on April 2, 2008 at 11:42 am

    Seasonal depression! You should invest in those special light bulbs that give off special beams of something like sun-light. I used to use them all the time, though I was never had my mood affected in the winter time.

    “About Georgina… there’s something wrong with her.”
    “Oh gawd, she’s not Welsh, is she??”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

