hot damn! (and somehow I managed to cram 7 parenthesis into this short entry..wait this makes 8)

Well, thankfully yesterday I was interrupted from hand-lettering the “This space for rent!” sign that I was making to hang on my uterus by the lady from that Job That I Wanted Really Badly (but that I was certain I wouldn’t get because…you know…it was WEDNESDAY and I still hadn’t heard anything) to offer me the job!

So I’m employed!  Hot Damn!  I’m so relieved (and I’m certain my uterus is also!).

I start on Monday and I’m slightly dreading it just a little because I’ve been sleeping til 8:30 or 9 almost every morning since I’ve been here, and this job is going to require that I leave here by 6:30 AM in order to catch the train into Boston (How awesome and grown-up is that?  That I’m taking THE TRAIN into THE CITY to go to my BIG GIRL JOB that has BENEFITZ AND SHIT) (In fact, it’s always been one of those silly little dreams of mine to one day have to take “the train” to my job.  That always seemed so cosmopolitan and European to me) (Give me a break.  I grew up in Alabama on 50 acres of woods 20 miles away from the nearest settlement of any substantial size.  For a girl who went naked until she was 6, riding the train is pretty freaking exciting.)

Oh my god!  I just told the internet the very thing that I lived in FEAR of my parents telling all my friends until I was about 16.  Progress.  Let me show you it.

ANYway…I’m also kinda nervous because I’m going to have to, like, get dressed and shit.  What the hell is that all about?  And look semi-cute every day (though this is actually kinda fun, because yesterday after I got the call, I went out and rewarded myself by buying some cute red shoes to wear to work.  And I actually don’t have much “professional” stuff, which means I get to go shopping!  With all the money I have!  Which I don’t!).  And we’re also going to have to figure out how to cook dinner and all that nonsense.  Usually I do it just about every day.  1. because I enjoy it, and 2. because I’m here at home, and 3. Because Pete usually doesn’t get home until after 6 and I’m already gnawing my arm off by that time.  But now, I probably won’t be getting home until 6:30 or maybe even 7, which seems like too late to start cooking, you know?  I think I may try doing that cooking for the month thing where you take a weekend and cook 9 million things and just freeze them.

I dunno, it’s going to take some getting used to, that’s for sure.

But YAYYYY!  I’m employed!

(also, this weekend Pete and I are going to Alabama so that is very exciting as well.  Mostly because this affords me an opportunity to  eat at my VERY FAVORITE BBQ restaurant in the entire world.  Seriously, my mouth is watering just at the thought of it.  I have been in such terrible BBQ withdrawals since I’ve been here.  Pete and I did go to one place, which he loves, but they have hickory sauce which is dark and viscous and *shudder.*  I don’t like that.  It’s mustard-based or nothin’ as far as i’ma concerned, y’all!)

9 responses to this post.

  1. Well, congratulations. Maybe we’ll run into each other working downtown and all. Have you tried Red Bones for bbq?

    Reply

  2. Posted by Ezra on January 24, 2008 at 11:07 am

    Mmmm, mustard based… Lindsey is going to Memphis this weekend, and hopefully she will be bringing back ribs from Rendezvous. Where in Auburn do you go for BBQ? I never really liked any of the places there. The biggest problem with Birmingham is all the BBQ places. So much BBQ, so little elastic in my pants.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Kelly on January 24, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    congrats on the new job!

    Reply

  4. Congrats on the job! Just how far from Boston is your train ride? I can concur that Yankee BBQ just isn’t the same, and it saddens me. I still annoy people by insisting that just grilling burgers on your porch is not bbq.

    Reply

  5. Congrats on the job! I am sure that it was my sterling recommendation that got it for you – well, maybe it helped in a small, insignificant way. So now you’re a real working girl. Good luck with the job!

    Reply

  6. felicidades!

    the train is great, lots of reading time.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Elizabeth on January 27, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    YAY!! And the world rejoices that Taylor is no longer bored. It is safe again from whatever gleefully, evil devices her mind plots when it has no gainful employment behind it. *weg* Congrats.

    Reply

  8. Congrats!!! I’ve done the “train downtown to Boston for work thing,” and it is nice to be able to read or knit while commuting. I sort of miss it now that I have to walk.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Mike on February 20, 2008 at 10:31 pm

    the Rice ‘n’ Hash.

    the Meat.

    the Skins.

    The Holy Trinity of BBQ. Three in one, in your mouth, delivering sheer ecstasy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

