Thumb update

I’ve had a lot of google referrals that have something to do with “severed thumb tendon recovery” or something like that, so I thought I’d give an update.

(Can this count as my do-gooder thing of the season?)

I’ve had my cast off for about three weeks now, and I have full movement back in my lower-thumb knuckle, but still very limited movement with my upper knuckle.  I can’t bend that one at all unless I stabilize the base of my thumb, and then I can only bend it a fraction.  Maybe about 80 degrees.  The doctor gave me a little exercise to do 100 times a day, and it is slowly getting better and better.  I can still feel a tremendous amount of pressure and pulling on the suture when I do bend it, even the slightest amount, but he said that was to be expected.

One of the reasons that I am having a hard time, he said, was because I have a very large amount of scar tissue left over from the initial cut which is putting pressure on my tendon.  He told me to massage the area some ever day, and that should help loosen everything up.  He said that it would probably take about 9 months until I was fully recovered, though he did say that I probably never would have full movement.

Aside from not being able to really bend it, I do have almost full use of my thumb back.  I can put pressure on the tip and hold things and support weight, so at this point, I don’t really feel like there is much wrong.  I’ve really gotten used to not having the option to bend it.  The only thing I Have trouble with is holding on to round things, like cans and bottles, with my left hand, but that isn’t a disaster (because I drink my wine out of the box!) (That’s a lie.  I totally don’t.). I’m seeing him again on Monday, unless we get iced in which is probably going to happen, so we’ll see then if I’ll need to do any physical therapy.

And if anyone stumbles across this post when searching for severed thumb tendon information, feel free to ask me any questions.

Leave a Reply

