Liars…

No snow yesterday, though there was a very brief dusting of teeny hail while I was sitting in my car outside of Target.  I went in and bought a new coat.  Prompted by the fact that there was ice falling on my car.   As I got out of my car to walk in, a man walked by me wearing shorts.  WTF?

There is, yet again, a chance of snow today, and as it is currently 33 degrees based on the thermometer on my back porch, I suppose it is possible.

Me?  I’m just distracted by the fact that Thanksgiving is 2 days away and my house is still a wreck.  I finally finished painting the dining room yesterday, so Pete and I set up the table and sideboard last night.  It doesn’t quiiiite fit, and the mahogany wood clashes terribly with the color I put on the walls, and perhaps I went upstairs and cried a little bit in the bathroom because it just. isn’t. goddamn. perfect.

However, when I actually set everything up with the chairs, put up a few of the pictures I want in there, and set out the flowers that Pete brought me home yesterday, it isn’t so bad.  And in the light of day this morning, I don’t hate it nearly as much as I did last night and I don’t feel like putting my fist through a wall every time I walk in there, so hooray!

Now my next object is the toilet tank currently sitting smack dab in the middle of my kitchen floor.  You know, because I HAD to paint the wall immediately behind the toilet.  (WHAT IF SOMEONE KNEW I LEFT THAT WHITE? Think of the judgment that would have rained down upon me!)  Naturally, the screws were corroded and we need new washers before we put in back on, so for two days I’ve been vaulting over it every time I walk into the kitchen.  When I asked Pete what I needed to get from Lowe’s, I only hung on for about .3 seconds before I zoned out and started thinking about lollipops and Care Bears with rainbows coming out of their asses (or whatever it is we girls think about).  After he went on for about a minute I said, “Honey, I haven’t the slightest idea what you just said.  Why don’t you go by the hardware store on the way home so I don’t start crying in Lowe’s because I don’t remember what kind of washers you need.”
His reply: “Ok, darling.  I can do that.” And he didn’t even roll his eyes at me.  Love, I tell you.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by debi on November 20, 2007 at 12:27 pm

    I saw Sandie on Saturday and she reminded me about your blog – glad she did! I wish you would start thinking about writing a book – your sense of humor is so wonderfully sarcastic that it is impossible not to feel better after reading your silly blog.

    Hope your Thanksgiving goes well – I assume you are having Pete’s parents over – is that why all of the anxiety?

    We will be gone from work until next week and then I have JURY DUTY so I don’t know when I will see your response to this (if there is one), but I hope there is one and then I can comment again to your response and, well, I guess it could end up being endless!

    I watch the weather channel everyday and think about you when they talk about the weather in Boston – glad I don’t live there!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Sandrita on November 20, 2007 at 8:56 pm

    Taylor, I remember the first time my in-laws (your grandparents)came to visit us in our “new” home in Waverly, AL. The house was seriously under construction. Your grandparents had to sleep in the downstairs area on an old rusty double bed (probably with stains on the mattress from where Roscoe pushed the back door open and sneaked in on stormy nights where he gleefully snoozed until we discovered him and dragged his black ass outside–for those who don’t know, he was a black lab, y’all!). If that doesn’t sound so bad you have to realize it was spring in Alabama; there had been a lot of rain and the house wasn’t exactly dried in. There were puddles about 1/2″ deep in the “guest bedroom”. In preparation of impending important visitors we had tried our best to sweep the water off of the unfinished concrete slab but the unevenness of the floor continued to allow the puddles to form and the unrelenting humidity prevented the evaporation of the water.
    The positive side was that your grandparents could climb into the bed without getting their feet wet if they stayed on the high side of the floor.

    Of course, the mosquitoes had already found the puddles and since there were no screens on the windows (wait…what windows?!) and no air-conditioning, the environment in which my in-laws (your grandparents) had to spend several nights began to take on an uncanny likeness to a steamy night in the Everglades. I think there were even tree frogs who had taken up residence in that bedroom…

    And you are worried about paint…?! Break one of those left-over Percocets in half and have a glass of wine–you will feel much better!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

