I am the missing link!

Saw the hand surgeon. News isn’t good. Looks like I’ve severed the flexor tendon in my thumb, which means I will need “major reconstructive surgery” to put things back in working order. However, he also told me that there was only a 20% recovery rate, and that I would never get full movement back.

Goddamn, fucking New York apples.

He also informed me that it is a very expensive procedure (especially when you add in the need for an overnight hospital stay, etc.) so I had to go down to the financial offices to see if I qualify for free care. I won’t know that for 2 weeks, so I’m sorta caught in limbo at the moment.

I’ll keep you updated.

(Really I’m OK though. I was a little shocked at first, because I wasn’t expecting him to say, “we may not be able to fix this,” but I’m trying to keep things in perspective. It could be so much worse.)

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Ezra on October 16, 2007 at 4:41 pm

    Hey, remember when I said,”based on your description of the injury you should consider the wedding?”

    That’s what you call a blog diagnosis. It’s the newest thing.

    Reply

  2. My hand was fucked up for a while, but gradually I regained full use without surgery. I was poor.

    What happened to me was I threw a punch at full force during a fight and hit a brick wall. Yes, I’m a moron.

    Reply

  3. Cripes. I am glad you are not freaking out.

    Reply

  4. Good luck! I am sure everything will work out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

