Maybe I can just gnaw through the neck of the bottle

My appointment with the surgeon is set for Monday, so I won’t know anything until then. I’m still keeping my fingers crossed that this is nothing more than a nicked tendon that just needs to be immobilized for a few weeks and not $30,000 reconstructive surgery and months of physical therapy. Because guess what! I don’t have health insurance! Isn’t that awesome?

(My response on the way home from the hospital was that if I went out and committed a crime THAT NIGHT, then they would put me in jail and then the government would have to pay for it. However, the response of my mother, Pete’s mother, and PETE HIMSELF was: “Ok, if we/you just run out and get married right now, you can have my/his health insurance.” Is that weird to anyone else? Nothing says “true love” like insurance fraud!)

I’m incredibly frustrated with the world right now because I can’t do things easily. Do you know how much I have taken for granted? Trying to put my hair up in a pony tail is highly difficult with only nine fingers, as is putting on my own damn bra. Though I did have a small victory this morning when I figured out how to do it (you put in on backwards!), I’m still frustrated by a million other things.

Mostly that I can’t open a bottle of wine by myself. Damnation.

8 responses to this post.

  1. We seriously pushed up our wedding date for health insurance. I needed surgery.

    And awwww he loves ya.

    Reply

  2. I get to go to a shotgun wedding in Montreal next week for very similar (yet somewhat different) reasons.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Ezra on October 12, 2007 at 7:03 pm

    Based on your description of the injury, the wedding might be a good idea.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Julie on October 14, 2007 at 4:32 pm

    “Nothing says ‘true love’ like insurance fraud!”

    Hahaha I love it!!

    Reply

  5. Really, marriage can be useful that way.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Sandrita on October 15, 2007 at 2:33 pm

    Start buying boxes-o-wine–you can turn the tap by yourself!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Marc with a C on October 15, 2007 at 4:56 pm

    *snerk* Is it bad that the wedding thing was exactly what Marc and I thought when we heard how much your poor thumb might cost? 😉
    Luv ya!

    Reply

  8. life without health insurance is something i just cannot fathom. but now you are closer to the border, you can just pop up into canada, i am sure there is a way to get surgery up there. a little insurance fraud is nothing compared to a little immigration fraud.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

