One Month

Okay. As of today we are officially one month away from us getting up at God knows what time prior to the ass-crack of dawn (though, honesly, we probably won’t even get up until 10, because Pete’s flight on Friday night doesn’t get in until MIDNIGHT. Listen Air Tran, I get that you can’t have direct flights into Charleston yet, because we’re a small airport and all, but I just don’t think it is reasonable that you don’t have any flights leaving Atlanta between 5:30 and 11:15 PM. Would it kill you to throw in a flight around, say, 9 or so?) and begin our monumental trek of 1,000 miles.

I am dreading the trip with every fiber of my being. I hate driving. It makes me lose my mind. Even if I have to drive 1 or 2 hours, it infuriates me. I feel like it is a complete waste of time and I can’t distract myself for longer than 5 minutes. Throw in the anxiety of being convinced that I am going to die in a horrible, fiery crash on the interstate and it doesn’t make for a good time. I know I start to get obnoxious after a while, too, but I just can’t help it. I guess I should take heart that when Pete and I drove to Alabama, we drove over 1,000 miles without killing each other.   But it was spread over 5 days, and we got to do fun stuff like feed cows and go sailing in between.

This will also be the longest continuous road trip I’ve ever been on. My max so far has been just over 8 hours, and my mom was driving so I slept most of the way. I was also 15, so I had my seething resentment at the world in general to keep me entertained. And not only is it a long road trip, but it is a long road trip that will be almost continuously on interstate 95. Which means that we get to drive through fun cities like Washington, DC, Baltimore, Philadelphia, and New York! Doesn’t this look like fun:

Haven’t you always wanted to drive through Manhattan? (please excuse me while I go vomit and take care of these hives that have just broken out all over me…)

Such is the diffculty that my life entails. No, I’m kidding. This isn’t really a big deal, I just don’t have anything to write about. I mean, I am terrified about it and my palms are all sweaty just thinking about it, but Pete already told me that he would drive through all the hard parts, since he grew up having to drive around things like this:

What I REALLY don’t want him to find out about is how unbearably annoying I can be after 16 solid hours. I guess he better get used to it…

(Oh, by the way, they close on the house on the 31st, and I’m not saying anything else about it before then. Because, you know, the cursing,)

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Andrew on August 22, 2007 at 12:02 pm

    Taylor the drive through NYC on highways is not bad at all Ive done it several times. Now if you got off the highways and were actually driving in the city then that would be a nightmare. You just need to stop freaking out youll be fine.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Wade on August 22, 2007 at 2:41 pm

    From a Southern perspective I think the most infuriating thing about the drive will be all the toll roads. That’s what got me the most on my long drives North anyway. Hell, if you do it often enough you’ll get to the point where 8 hours doesn’t feel like anything, and not doing it alone is a big plus. Andrew’s right, driving through NYC shouldn’t be too bad, as long as you’re going over the G Washington Bridge anyway. Going through the midtown tunnel to Times Square I wouldn’t advise, and if you do, for God’s sake don’t let your radiator overheat and explode as soon as you emerge (totally hypothetical situation of course).

    Reply

  3. Posted by Sandrita on August 22, 2007 at 2:51 pm

    The difference between an ordeal and an adventure is attitude…get a good one!

    P.S. Want some Xanax?

    Reply

  4. Fret not. That route won’t take you through Manhattan in the way you fear. It’s really highway driving over the bridge at the northern tip and continuing on. It’s a bit of an icky affair as far as traffic goes. But it’s as simple as you can get through this area.

    Reply

  5. If you leave on a weekday, make sure you leave in time to avoid the D.C./Baltimore corridor anytime between the hours of 3pm and 7pm otherwise, that 16 hours will turn into 18-20. D.C. traffic is NOT FUN! When we moved here last year, we drove, and there was an accident that shut down ALL LANES of I-95 and what is normally a 10-hour trip ended up being 16.

    Philly isn’t bad – you’re driving around the outside of it but still get good views of the city. Wave at my old hood as you go by – exits 1 through about 14 as you enter PA.

    And NY, well, never done it, have fun with it!!

    And GOOD LUCK!!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Ezra on August 22, 2007 at 11:22 pm

    There is nothing in New York that you should fear. I spent years going up there to visit my mom, and the fear you feel is because people who have never been there have decided that it is big so it must be bad. When it comes to bad traffic, I don’t think any place will ever be worse than my the four or five trips I have taken through Chicago. At least you don’t have to drive through Chicago.

    Also, not being able to be distracted for more than five minutes while driving isn’t a bad thing. As a matter of fact, if you are distracted for just five minutes while driving you are a vehicular homicide waiting to happen. Please keep your car away from my roads.

    Reply

  7. Posted by mirandathepanda on August 23, 2007 at 9:59 am

    Do not fret, child! My boyfriend just did a solo trip from D.C. to CT, it’s not that bad. You’re really not driving through “the city” per se, it’s more like a part of the city with nice apartments and minimal traffic. The only part(s) that are sort of bad are: a) the GWB (because people don’t know that EZ-Pass only really does mean no cash)
    b) I-95 by Larchmont/Mamaroneck/Harrison – but really, I live along that stretch. If there is traffic, just pull over and call me. We’ll go to I-Hop or something. 😉

    Best of luck to you!

    Reply

  8. I’m sure you will be fine! As everyone else above has said, the drive “through” NYC isn’t bad. If you guys start getting really tired or driving each other crazy, just pull over and take a break.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

