Whaaaaa…?

Oh dear God.  Something very scary and alarming is happening.  This may actually be signaling the Apocalypse.  Y’all better start praying or sacrificing goats or whatever it is that you need to do, because retribution is coming.

That’s right.  Newt Gingrich is actually starting to make sense.  (I know!  It shivers me to the core!)

In a recent speech to some college students:

 “None of you should believe we are winning this war. There is no evidence that we are winning this war,” the ex-Georgian told a group of about 300 students attending a conference for collegiate conservatives.

Oh yes.  And how about this gem:

 “We have got to get past this partisan baloney, where I’m not allowed to say anything good about Hillary Clinton because ‘I’m not a loyal Republican,’ and she’s not allowed to say anything good about me, or she’s not a ‘loyal’ Democrat. What a stupid way to run a country.”

Ummm…wow.  Good for him, right?  I’m just still…so…shocked.

Now please excuse me while I go roll up my windows,  because I’m pretty sure it’s about to start snowing in Charleston

(Except that it totally isn’t, because the heat index today is supposed to be 115 degrees.  ONE HUNDRED AND FIFTEEN DEGREES.  I am sitting in my air-conditioned office with a fan blowing on me drinking cold water and I’m still sweating.  I’ve about freaking had it with this*.  I actually hung up on Peter yesterday when he called and told me that it was 79 degrees in Massachusetts.  Of course I immediately called him back and told him that I loved him, but he was very amused by it.  Anyway, I’m Hooooooottttt!)

(*Please do not throw this back in my face when I am complaining every single day about the horrendous cold I am about to face with a New England winter, k?)

5 responses to this post.

  1. I remember visiting Charleston a couple of years ago and hearing about the summer heat. I don’t know how you survive it!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Sandrita on August 7, 2007 at 1:12 pm

    What I can’t believe is growing up in Mobile, AL (the exact same conditions as Charleston but probably a little hotter since we were further south) with NO, ZIP, NADA, ZERO AIR CONDITIONING. Not in the house, nor the car. I remember those long summer nights laying in a double bed with my sister, and waiting for the brief breeze of a single oscillating fan, sweating and waiting for that moment in the wee hours of the morning when the temperature dropped low enough to allow sleep…like 85 degrees! It was 92 degrees on our deck last night at 9:00 p.m.

    How many months until November…???

    Reply

  3. Posted by Ezra on August 7, 2007 at 6:05 pm

    Yeah, It’s hot down here. Damn hot. It makes you feel like you were born on the sun.

    Of course being in one of the most polluted cities in the nation doesn’t help since all the heat is constantly amplifying under the smoghat. (Note to self: never start a band called smoghat.)

    Earlier today I came home and the dog was excited to go outside. I opened the door and he ran out… about five steps. Then his tongue started hanging out of his mouth and he chose to come back inside.

    Gingrich has said a lot of things that make sense. But so did Karl Marx, and his ideas work great.

    Reply

  4. Oh I see. Newt Gingrich, the guy who once shut down the entire federal government because he thought Bill Clinton was being rude to him on Air Force One on their way back from Yitzhak Rabin’s funeral is now suddenly concerned about partizanship, AND finally has the balls to basically state what most of us have known from the very beginning?

    That’s like applauding a 7-11 worker who has decided that out of respect for his boss, and the fact that there’s going to be a health inspection next week, he’s going to curtail his daily habit of peeing in the Sluurpy machine.

    Cause for celebration? Yes. A dynamic shift in the way he does his job or his value as a human being? Not on your life.

    Reply

  5. Scary, isn’t it?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

