Remember how I said I didn’t want this to turn into a blog about religion?

Whoops!

In connection with my creation museum post from the other day, I wanted to post an interesting FAQ about the Bible, written by an eloquent, intelligent, insightful atheist.

I’ve been reading his blog, The Gospel of Reason, (which you will now see in my sidebar under the “politics” section, because I couldn’t think of anywhere else to put it.) for a while now, and I’ve really enjoyed it. It’s well put, well thought out, and isn’t written by a rabid atheist who thinks all Christians are stupid fools who deserve nothing but scorn (some do, obviously, as do some atheists, who are also commonly unwilling to live in a world with people who have different beliefs). I prize rational thought above almost anything else in this world, and this writer exudes it with abundance.

Here is a brief answer from one of the questions (which he took from a religious website) in this FAQ:

14.- How can you tell the difference between a miracle and a natural, but unusual event?

Every natural and unusual event is a miracle until science can find an answer, and it always does.

One of the things that frustrates me the most about people who are religious is there insistence that “miracles” occur. I know it is lovely and wonderful and comforting to believe that miracles happen, but I think it is silly. When someone is saved from certain death in a freak accident, or if someone heals from an illness that by all accounts should kill them, it isn’t a miracle. There is an explanation, even if we don’t know it. It could very well be a fluke, but it isn’t a miracle.

I’m bothered when people need an explanation, and where there isn’t one, they chalk it up to divine intervention.

You should go read the rest of these. They are most insightful.

And this brings to mind one of my favorite quotes in my quotebook, which I don’t have with me right now, so I can’t credit it:

“I believe that the basic law of life is that we are nothing more than a bunch of chemical reactions running around in a bag.”

Well put.

4 responses to this post.

  1. My physics teacher put it rather bluntly:

    Humans are big bags of dirty water.

    Thanks for the compliments! I do what I can.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Shane on June 13, 2007 at 6:04 pm

    Hi Taylor,
    Good to see you at the cookout! It was fun hanging out with you and Pete.
    I generally don’t comment on blogs, but your past two concerning religion have been quite interesting. I had heard about the creation museum from an article someone brought to work. It simply astounded me. To spend so much money trying to sell the public that fantasy, while people starve and children go uneducated. >sigh

    Reply

  3. Posted by Elizabeth on June 15, 2007 at 11:45 am

    Don’t you think that even when there is a scientific explanation something can still be a miracle just because its so incredible that this something can occur? Or am I using a different definition than the religious definition of miracle?

    Reply

  4. Posted by Taylor on June 15, 2007 at 12:05 pm

    Elizabeth-

    I think lots of things are miraculous, but aren’t miracles. I am one of those people who is completely awed by pictures of stars and by sunsets and natural beauty, so I assure you I spend plenty of time wondering at the marvel that is the world we live in.

    By definition, a miracle is: “An event that appears inexplicable by the laws of nature and so is held to be supernatural in origin or an act of God”

    I guess it comes down to what you consider a miracle to be. It is a miracle beause God did it, or is it a miracle because it’s amazing?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

