Links o’ the day!

Here’s a fun game!  Who said it?  Hitler or Falwell?

 *insert obligatory predictable “witty” comment here*

Are you forgetful?  (What? Who said that?  Where am I?)  Here’s 10 things you can do to keep your memory strong.

Two Reps, Ryan (D-Ohio) and Schakowsky (D-Ill.), are trying to live for a week on $21 worth of food stamps, the average amount received by people on federal assistance.  Guess what?  It’s hard.  There are a lot of really valid arguments about the danger of the welfare state and the cracks (or gaping maws) in our system, and I honestly don’t know where I stand on the debate, but it is really refreshing to see 2 lawmakers actually step in and see what it is like for the people depending on this to live.  If more of them would do this, I think you’d see more lawmakers actually trying to solve this problem.

I’m a big John Edwards supporter, and I think the work he has done for the poor is  outstanding and brave, so it sticks in my craw when people harass him for being rich.  They call him a hypocrite for living in a big house and getting expensive haircuts, which seems like the most ridiculous argument in the world to me.  I’m not alone!

So, would it be okay if you had a limousine but decided to keep all your money for yourself and run the poor over with your limo? Then, I guess you wouldn’t a hypocrite, you’d just be an asshole.

The Blog | Cenk Uygur: John Edwards is Not a Hypocrite For Helping the Poor | The Huffington Post

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Ezra on May 17, 2007 at 11:16 pm

    It’s hard to believe that people can complain about philanthropy. If anything his actions are supererogatory. Oh yeah, I said supererogatory. Medical ethics kick ass.

    No really, they suck.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Teresa on May 18, 2007 at 11:46 am

    There’s actually 4 of them doing the food stamp thing, and a couple of them are keeping blogs about their experiences

    http://foodstampchallenge.typepad.com/my_weblog/

    http://timryan.house.gov/

    It’s really amazing stuff, and definitely got me thinking about how much money I spend on food for a given day, and how little $3 is…

    (Also, that’s my Safeway they’re shopping at in that article, about 3 blocks from where my apartment! Hehehehe…I love living in DC!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

