A couple of random things

1.  If you live in the Charleston area, check out this website:  Go Green Charleston.  It’s about all things environmental and what you can do in our community to promote a healthy environment.

2.  Look what’s in the harbor!  LOOOOK!

The Charleston Tall Ship festival is this weekend, and the ships are already starting to sail into the harbor!  I am crazy excited about this.  I promise you that there will be many millions of pictures posted in the upcoming days.

This, incidentally, is the first ship to come in (Unless you count the Spirit of South Carolina, which I don’t, because it lives here).  This is the GLORIA, from Columbia.  We should also see the Spirit of Bermuda today, the Prince William and the Picton-Castle, which is currently off the coast of Brunswick, Georgia.  The Pride of Baltimore may actually be in port as we speak, but I didn’t get a chance to drive down to the piers this morning.  I don’t know when Tarangini is coming in.  Stay tuned!

Oh, and here’s a neat little map that shows the locations of tall ships all over the world (you’re welcome, Daddy!):

2 responses to this post.

  1. I adored Charleston when I visited for the first time a couple of years ago. I was there in April and the weather was gorgeous. I don’t know how you handle the summer heat. I hear it gets oppressive.

    Reply

  2. Thanks for the link to Go Green Taylor! I was glad to see it was from you, as your blog is one of the few local ones I’ve been through. Very funny stuff – plus you seem/look so familiar. Do you know Kevin Harrison?

    Anyhoo, thanks again…I added you to the blogroll on my personal site. Come by Go Green and leave a comment or join the forums!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

