Good riddance

Jerry Falwell died today.

I don’t normally gloat over dead people, but it is about damn time. This man was a hate-filled spewing sore on America, and I’m glad we don’t have to listen to his crazy vitriol anymore.

Here are a few of his choice quotes (via Boing Boing):

* “AIDS is not just God’s punishment for homosexuals; it is God’s punishment for the society that tolerates homosexuals” * “It appears that America’s anti-Biblical feminist movement is at last dying, thank God, and is possibly being replaced by a Christ-centered men’s movement which may become the foundation for a desperately needed national spiritual awakening.”

* “If you’re not a born-again Christian, you’re a failure as a human being.”

* After the September 11 attacks Falwell said, “I really believe that the pagans, and the abortionists, and the feminists, and the gays and the lesbians who are actively trying to make that an alternative lifestyle, the ACLU, People For the American Way, all of them who have tried to secularize America. I point the finger in their face and say ‘you helped this happen.”

* “Christians, like slaves and soldiers, ask no questions”

* “[Homosexuals are] brute beasts…part of a vile and satanic system [that] will be utterly annihilated, and there will be a celebration in heaven.”

Yeah buddy, I’m sure Jesus would really approve of you.

It is times like this when I hope there is a God and a heaven and hell, just so I know that people like this will be punished for the rest of eternity. I hope he gets to the pearly gates and St. Peter punches him in the face, gives him a wedgie, and throws his ass into the fiery bowels of hell.

But the worst part is, there are so many more of him out there.

6 responses to this post.

  1. One down, a few million to go.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Wade on May 15, 2007 at 5:29 pm

    I think one of the harder parts of trying to be a Christian nowadays must be not hating back at people like Jerry. Of course i suppose it could be a lot easier to simply let yourself be defined by the label and just take his side on things, but that’s even worse.
    Don’t even get me started on Kirk Cameron and the Creationists.

    Reply

  3. Don’t get me started on Evangelicals. My ex is now dating one and she didn’t announce she was really moral and easily offended and she kept making all these backhanded comments to my friends about how I was amoral because I wasn’t a virgin (um, sorry I lost it to her current boy and she throws stones?) and told dirty jokes (the joke I told was the 12 inch pianist joke, thank you Taylor). I wanted to be like “you’re 22, you’re surrounded by adults, get over the fact that we use the f word casually or get out”.
    Oh, there is a great HBO special on Evangelicals. Apparently they make their wives have really good orgasms. The world may never know.

    Reply

  4. therefore, i am a failure as a human being and partly responsible for September 11th. hell might be rough but at least all my favourite people will be there too.

    Reply

  5. ok sorry about all the comments in one sitting, but i just googled kirk cameron and who knew he was saving souls and carrying on the good work of falwell?!

    tools to help you save your mother and father?

    wow.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Taylor on May 17, 2007 at 8:00 am

    Lu,

    Kirk Cameron is surely a crazy person. It makes me cringe that I ever liked growing pains. What a shame…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

