The unintentional side effects of blogging (and no, it’s not a rash)

In my 3 or so months in the blogging world, I’ve been thrilled by a number of things.  Like the first time my visitor count went over 100 (holy shit!  really? 104 people visited today? how many of those were my mom?) and my first totally random commenter who I didn’t A) know B) know how she got here.  Exciting things I tell you.  But I think that today I may have reached the zenith of my career online, because I was just informed that I have somehow embedded not only myself, but also Pete, into the psyche of one of my readers.

I had a nice little message today from Zayne (and by the way, your named made my spell checker go CRAZY!), one of my friends from college who I never thought I’d see again until the wonders of MySpace allowed me to stalk people I had a crush on in high school, and also reunite me with old friends blah blah blah.  Whatever.  It should be called MyStalker.   But anyway!  In his dream, Zayne was working at an old job when he spotted me.  He came up to say hi and then he saw Pete standing in one of the aisles.

(Now this is especially interesting because Zayne and Pete have never met each other.  Zayne does not know Pete.   Pete does not know Zayne.  They have had zero interaction with one another.  And yet, YET!, because of my blog and my propensity to show off my smokin’ hot boyfriend’s Very Blue Eyes, he appeared in Zayne’s dream. )

The dream gets even odder here, because as Zayne went up to talk to him, I steered him away because I was having an affair and I was afraid Zayne would tell him.  Internet, I’m not sure what I said to give the impression that I’m having an affair, but I can assure you that I am not.  My life is not nearly as exciting as that, and I’m not nearly bored enough with Pete to have an affair.  Maybe one day, but not now (Kidding!  Only kidding!  Please God don’t let this be the day Pete decides to read my blog!  Honey, I love you!  You’re smart and funny and charming!  You have nice teeth!)

If  y’all have any crazy dreams about me, please let me know.  They amuse me so much.

In other news, my life is boring!  I have nothing interesting to tell you about.  But I do have a question.  Why do guys sometimes shave their legs?  I had a guy come into work today with shaved legs.  And he wasn’t a body builder or swimmer or something like that, at least he certainly didn’t look like one.  And he had these pristine, white legs.  I couldn’t keep from staring at them.  Why would he do that?  It was weird.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Zayne on April 11, 2007 at 11:29 am

    You know what else drives spellchecker to ruination? Cthulhu. Can’t stand that word or any of its variants.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Ezra on April 11, 2007 at 9:33 pm

    The only reason a guy would shave his legs if he wasn’t an athlete is if he was a) really a lady, or b) really a cross-dresser. Both involve pantyhose, and they are the only possible explanations.

    Oh, or maybe he’s a serial killer. That’s also acceptable… For an explanation, not a lifestyle.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Teresa on April 13, 2007 at 8:34 am

    My ex-boyfriend used to shave his legs sometimes. It creeped the hell out of me, because there were definitely periods where he shaved his legs more often than I did (my boyfriend SHOULD NOT have smoother legs than I do!)

    That was just one of the many reasons why that relationship was less than awesome. The new boy wins at life simply because he does not shave his legs! 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

