Links o’ the day

Prince Harry is going to Iraq. If nothing else, you’ve got to give it up to the Royals for not using special treatment to get him out of it. Nothing like this would ever happen in this country. There’s a reason we have the Texas Air National Guard after all. One of the things that continually pisses me off about this war is the shocking number of senators and congressmen and other higher-ups in the government who don’t have kids serving in the military. And you just know if there was ever a draft, they’d sure as hell get their kids off the list.

I initially clicked on this link because it made me laugh out loud: Ralph Nader: America’s Crank, but the short opinion piece actually makes a lot of sense. I have a love/hate relationship with Ralph Nader. First of all, let me say that polititcally I think he’s ridiculous and he really means nothing to me. But I do agree with him that the two party system is bad for the country. I wish we had more political parties that were viable and had some sort of real stake in the government. On that angle, I really appreciate his dedication to the cause of an independent party. On the other hand, if it weren’t for him, George Bush never would have won the 2000 election and, in all probability, we’d be in a hell of a lot better shape than we are now. And now he is threatening to run again, and will no doubt take votes away from democratic candidates that will amount to nothing more than GOP victories. I guess you have to choose your battles, and I feel like now isn’t the time to be trying to bring down the two-party system. We have bigger fights.

Look y’all. I hate clowns as much as the next guy, but this is a little extreme.

COOL!  And also?  A little bit horrifying.

Oh, and Newsweek? You’re totally on notice! Yesterday, one of your top stories was about Britney Spears and her ridiculous shaven head. Today, you have another Anna Nicole Smith story. Look, that shit isn’t news. That’s gossip. I have places to get my gossip, and you are not one of them. Why don’t you try covering the atrocious conditions at Walter Reed Hospital that everyone seems to be ignoring. (Thanks, Zayne! and P.S. get a real blog so I can link to you!)

Leave a Reply

