And the feeling in my fingers has returned

Well, the good news is I never had to go to the hospital. That scary ghostie named cold weather that I’ve been having nightmares about? Nothing but a big old softie.

Now don’t get me wrong, ya’ll. It was cold. When I got in on Thursday night (at about 1 AM, thanks to a delay in the ATL), it was 11 degrees (here’s one thing I wish I knew how to do: make the little degree sign. There is no degree sign key. Are you people who make those appear magic or what?). That isn’t including the windchill. Pete very kindly told me to wait inside while he went to get the truck and pick me up. I though it was just because he was being sweet, but I think he just knew that if I had walked outside at that moment, and had to actually walk around in air that cold, I would have turned around and flown home. He pulled up and I walked out the door and I actually gasped. It was jarring. But I was immediately bundled into the warm, cozy truck and that was forgotten.

After the first shock, it was ok. I wouldn’t want to stand around in it for an hour, but it wasn’t dehibilitating. My new (fabulous!) black coat did a stellar job. Let’s give her a round of applause. I came prepared with multiple hats, scarves, gloves, and the like, but actually didn’t even end up using them. And before I go off congratulating myself, I am hearing that voice in the back of my head yelling at me “But it wasn’t even that cold!” Yes, I know, I hear you. Shut the hell up.

What really made the cold seem bearable, however, was the beauty. There was a decent layer of completely hard-frozen snow on everything that literally glittered in the sunlight. It was like all of the houses and trees were frosted. The ponds were all frozen solid, and even the 100th one we passed still made my breath catch with how pretty it was. There was no end to my excited exclamations at the wonders that we saw. Because oh my god! Look Pete! Look! There a little girl! Ice skating! On a pond! Outside! or Wow! They are playing hockey! Outside! On a frozen pond! Or the absolutely best- when my voice became so high pitched I’m surprised birds did not drop dead out of the sky- a man actually drilling a hole in the ice so he could go ice fishing. Oh, and there was also a cranberry bog, which, for some completely inexplicable reason, actually made my eyes all misty. I don’t know why, but it just seemed so quaint that it sort of broke my heart a little bit.

How can you complain about a little cold weather when it makes things look like this:

In case you are wondering, that is my cold face. And, oh yes, those are teensy little iceburgs floating in the water behind me.

There’s more about the trip, obviously. And I’m not trying to leave you hanging, but at this moment, I’m having a very difficult time pulling it out of my head and putting it into descriptive terms. It was amazing, to say the least. I didn’t think it was possible to be more enchanted with the South Shore, Pete’s amazing, spectacular, fabulous family, or even Pete himself. But? I totally am.

Leave a Reply

