If it wasn’t for that damned quantitative section…

On the 22nd, I took the GRE. I think I did well, but I’m not entirely sure. Wait. That isn’t true. I know I did well, I just do know if it was enough. Remember when you were looking at colleges and you had all those books like Princeton Review and the U.S. News and World Report guides to schools? Those had these delightful little conveniences that told you what the average SAT/ACT scores were for admission. Well, I’m learning that those don’t actually exist for grad school. And so, because of this, all I know about the schools I want to get into is that they are “very selective” or “most selective.” What the hell does that mean? Does that mean that I have a shot at getting into Boston College? Who knows? Was my GRE score good enough to get me into “very selective” schools, or am I banished to get my masters degree at University of Phoenix Online? Somehow I don’t think I’ll be a professor at Yale with those qualifications. Not that I want to be a professor at Yale, but I’d like to have some options.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Andrew on January 31, 2007 at 5:02 pm

    What you dont want to teach at Yale, why not? You could then teach the future Bush’s.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Teresachinook2006.livejournal.com on January 31, 2007 at 5:03 pm

    Awwwww. *hugs*
    Yeah, getting into grad school is much more of a crap shoot than undergrad was. Not only do grad schools seem to be opposed to saying exactly what GRE score you need to get in, but there’s also added factors like, even if you are the top person who applied in your history field, if the professor who works in that field doesn’t want to/can’t take on any new students, you won’t get in no matter how qualified you are. Yeesh.

    But seriously, as long as your quantitative score is *respectable* (which it sounds like it is), and your verbal is in the 700’s (probably preferrably mid to upper), then you’re fine. To give you an idea, I’ll admit that my quantitative score was *barely* in the top half (I think it was the 54th percentile or something like that), and my verbal was in the upper 700’s, and I got into all the grad schools that I applied to. Granted, I was just applying to museum grad programs, but I was basically on the history PhD program track until the fall of my senior year, when I realized that I would probably kill myself in a PhD program and decided to go for a masters in museum studies, but I’d assume that history programs wouldn’t be too much harder to get into…
    *hugs*
    (This is my really long-winded way of saying that if you have any questions about grad school stuff, feel free to ask…I’ve promised to help Marc out with his stuff also! Hehe!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

