Why I love fall

Damn if I don’t have a love/hate relationship with fall.  In the South, fall is a beautiful thing.   It sweeps in after the long, staggering summer with one chilly night and all of the sudden months of lovely, crisp air are laid out in front of you (well, except for the inexplicable heatwave that always comes through in October).  You finally get to wear your sweaters and your scarves, pumpkins start showing up in the grocery stores, and most importantly, football is back.  Where I’m from in Alabama, Fall lasts a long time.  Proper winter is brief, so you’ve got months and months of all that is perfect about this lovely season. 

It’s not quite like that up here.  Fall means one thing:  OH MY GOD WINTER IS ALMOST HERE. PLEASE EXCUSE ME WHILE I BURST INTO TEARS OVER HERE.

Ok, that’s a ridiculous exagerrations.  Fall also means:

1. Foliage- Listen, they aren’t messing around when they talk about the beauty of the Fall trees in New England.  That shit is magical.  The most impressive thing is how quickly it happens.  One day you drive by a perfectly serviceable green tree and the next day it is a riot of red and gold and orange bright enough to make you almost lose control of your car.  This place is beautiful right now.

2.  Candy Corn- My #1 all-time favorite candy.  This morning I walked into work and a co-worker of mine had a bowl on her desk.  I’m trying to figure out how to get her out of her office so I can dump it into my purse.   I want to find the person that invented it and kiss them on the mouth.  The quickest way to my heart is through candy corn.  (And don’t even think of bringing me those unholy pumpkins that masquerade around as a version of candy corn.  I am not fooled, and Jesus is watching you commit those sins, Brachs.)

3.  Winter clothing- Boots!  Scarves!  Hats!  I love winter clothing, and have managed to cultivate a pretty damn impressive collection of coats and jackets in my short tenure here* and I find it delightful to trot them out on occasion (and by “on occasion” I mean every day from now until May). 

4.  My birthday- It was last Saturday!  I turned 27 years old.  My September birthday is the reason that my middle name is Autumn.   

5.  And finally, but most importantly, football.  I love football. It is my favorite sport above all others.  It makes me so happy.    It especially makes me happy when my beloved team is doing extremely well.  Despite what those fucking polls say.  Ah well, what’s a good Auburn football season without getting screwed by the BCS standings and bitching about the AP Poll?  I have only this to say:  War Damn Eagle.   I’m also pleased that I have found friends up here who are excited to sit around all day on Sunday and watch football (of course, my preference would be to sit around all day on SATURDAY to watch football, but I’ll take what I can get).  They at least tolerate me talking about what happened to all the teams I love and loathe on the previous day,  so that’s good enough for me.

*If you’re keeping track, I also just passed my two-year anniversary of being in Massachusetts.   I do not know how I feel about that, so don’t even ask.

4 responses to this post.

  1. I think the pumpkins taste exactly like the regular candy corn. I love them equally.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Gloria on September 30, 2009 at 12:33 pm

    I love that football is back. It was such a long summer without it.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Ezra on October 1, 2009 at 12:08 am

    I will never understand your fixation on candy corn. Every time you proclaim your love for those strange little wax/sugar concoctions it seems odd all over again.

    I too love the football. And unlike you and many of your northern friends I love college and pro equally. For me, equally = with a fiery hot passion that can easily induce yelling until a head rush and drinking until a headache. Saturdays are fantastic times because at 9am ESPN greets you with Gameday. And then the games flow constantly from 11am until midnight. On Saturday you can literally spend the entire day with football. And all day, you can cheer the Tigers. Because every team is a rival. Every team can change the course of your season… Because my team destroyed the team that beat the other team that almost beat their team but that team lost to the other team that makes our win more important to the bastards on the Harris poll and Coaches poll.

    Sundays are a little less jam-packed. The games don’t start until noon. After the first two you have an hour before the final game. And there is a much smaller selection (unless you drop the money to directv). BUT… the game is a beautiful thing to watch. The players are faster. The passes are more accurate. The sacks are more brutal. When those eleven guys on a field act in concert it is the single greatest team sport in the world.

    Reply

  4. Posted by sandie on October 11, 2009 at 8:55 am

    I spent the entire day Saturday watching SEC football–War Eagle anyway!

    And, while I hate the Florida Gators, Tim Tebow rocks!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

