Crisp air

It’s only the very beginning of September, and even though we never had much of a summer, Autumn is already in the air here.   I’ve been waking up to cool mornings.  Certainly not so cool that I don’t want to get out of bed (well, who am I kidding?  I never want to get out of bed), but cool enough that I need a jacket when I leave in the mornings.  

The onset of cool weather gives me a certain sense of dread, these days.  It just seems too soon to be worrying about snow and coats and dark-at-4:00, especially since our summer was so brief and quick.  I don’t think we even had a single day that was over 92 or so.   Summer up here is so very different than it is in the south. 

Here are some of the things I miss:

  • Old men in Seersucker Suits – very, very common in Charleston, especially where business or society forced you into something nice when it was 110 degrees outside.  I found them so charming.
  • Giant, cheap watermelons- You can buy them here.  In the grocery store.  Shipped from Mexico.  They cost far too much money and aren’t very good.  In Alabama, you can buy them for pennies and they taste like manna from  heaven.  Or they were free, if I snatched one out of my parent’s garden.
  • HEAT- Dear god, I actually miss roasting in the heat of the south.  On many occasions, I have gotten into my car when I leave work, after it sat in the sun for 8 hours, and left the windows rolled up and not turned on the air conditioner, just so I could feel some honest-to-god heat.  I can’t believe that I miss being so hot I feel like I’m going to pass out, but I legitimately do.  When I tell people that, they look at me like I have crazy eyes (as I’m sure you are doing while you are reading this), but I’m unapologetic.  It relaxes me like nothing else can.
  • Sweet tea- OK, the stuff they have at Starbucks is actually pretty good, but it’s too expensive and I’m not around one very frequently.  I’ve had to deal with getting unsweetened iced tea from Dunkin Donuts and putting a few packs of splenda in it (because if you ask for it sweetened with sugar, they just dump a bunch into the ice-cold liquid, producing a sugar slurry at the bottom that doesn’t dissolve.  Cue fury!).  How do you get through a summer without sweet tea?
7 responses to this post.

  1. yEAH, IT IS WAAAAY TOO EARLY FOR COLD WEATHER.

    Reply

  2. i am with you – i am not built for cold weather at all and i grew up in CANADA (which i must admit, is not always as cold as people think, or at least the part that i grew up in is not as cold as people would think). i sort of like the feeling of being slightly too warm or sleeping with the window open and a warm breeze.

    and those men in charleston sound completely charming!

    Reply

  3. Posted by sandie on September 3, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    Here in our part of Alabama we have had an unusually mild summer–only a few weeks where the heat indices were over 100. However it has been humid…very humid so it felt hotter than it actually was but the gardens, grass, trees, weeds, frogs, lizards and mushrooms have been loving it. This part of Alabama is like a tropical rain forest these days…but this morning I actually sat on the deck and drank my coffee wearing sweat pants and a sweat shirt–unheard of this time of year. But it won’t last long–we will be back into the 90’s in a couple of days and then we will have the long, warm Indian summer days of September and October while we anticipate the wonderful color change in the leaves which comes in the late fall.

    We have two plastic crates full of sweet watermelons and cantelopes from the garden–we are having trouble giving them away. Richard picked more green beans today and we are having shrimp and sausage gumbo made with home-grown okra on Saturday. Your old friend Sarah Dalyrymple will be joining us, along with her parents, for the gumbo. And, as you know, there is always a container of strong sweet tea in the fridge…sort of makes you homesick, right???

    Reply

  4. Posted by sandie on September 4, 2009 at 10:21 am

    No, Massachusetts is cold, really cold. Come back to the warmth of the south, where you belong…

    Reply

  5. Posted by Ezra on September 4, 2009 at 11:11 pm

    We’ve had a lot of pretty hot days. But maybe only a month total over 100. Usually it’s double that. The problem with the heat is that at the end of winter it’s welcomed, but that rapidly fades away as it gets so desperately hot that as soon as you open your door it hits you. That isn’t just colorful wording. You open the door and it feels like something has struck you. And it is literally too hot to move. You drag through the days trying not to get hot. I move around from building to building on campus a lot, but I can’t imagine how bad it has been for the people who have outdoor labor intensive jobs.

    Watermelons are delicious. I’m gonna run by the farmer’s market and pick up a couple tomorrow for this weekend’s festivities. Which will mainly just be a few specific hours tomorrow night since my nose will be in a book until Sep. 12.

    The seersucker has been ruined for me. I have a friend, the one I recently sent you a facebook message about, who enjoys the seersucker. He is beyond preppy. Any seersucker just reminds me of the time he was wearing a seersucker suit and a bow tie while explaining to me that the bible says women should not have positions of responsibility outside of the home. That is why, while he is not racist, he would not have voted for Condoleeza Rice.

    I am not a big brewer of iced tea, but I do occasionally pick up a jug of Milo’s sweetened with the splenda.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

